3.0 hours Floods and other Natural Hazards – Course Syllabus

Iowa real estate license renewal course video image

Course Syllabus:

3.0 Elective Hours

The National Flood Insurance Program is a voluntary program based on a mutual agreement between the federal government and the local community. In exchange for adopting and enforcing a floodplain management ordinance in compliance with federal and state laws, federally backed flood insurance is made available to property owners throughout the community.

The Community Status List for each state is updated regularly on FEMA’s Web site. In addition to listing each participating community in the NFIP, it lists the communities that have identified Special Flood Hazard Areas, but which do not participate. Also listed is the date of entry for each community, as well as the date of the current effective maps.

Usually a community participating in the Regular Phase of the NFIP is provided with a Flood Insurance Rate Map and a detailed engineering study, termed a Flood Insurance Study. Under the Regular Phase, more comprehensive floodplain management requirements are required in exchange for higher amounts of flood insurance coverage. Law establishes the maximum amounts of coverage.

This course will explain the administrative structure of the National Flood Insurance Program in relationship to jurisdictional requirements for participation and the local community’s role in the National Flood Insurance Program.

Back to Course Catalog